About Neurologybytes

Neurologybytes is a knowledge hub for healthcare professionals to explore key topics and the latest scientific research around multiple sclerosis and migraine, with the aim to provide educational resources to help improve treatment and the well-being of their patients.

Neurologybytes on LinkedIn

The Neurologybytes Steering Committee

We work with a dedicated panel of global experts to identify key topics, areas of interest, and the best format for delivering educational materials—exclusively for the Neurologybytes platform.

Multiple Sclerosis


Dr. Antonios Bayas, MD, PD

Dr. Antonios Bayas is the Executive Senior Physician at the Department of Neurology, University Hospital Augsburg, Germany. His research interests are focused on MS, neuroimmunology, and neuromuscular diseases, and he has authored over 80 original articles, case reports, reviews, and book chapters.


Mrs. Vibeke Jespersen

Mrs. Vibeke Jespersen is a study nurse in the Department of Neurology at Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen University Hospital, Denmark. She is the MS Research Nurse and Clinical Trial Coordinator for Professor Sørensen, Chair of the MS Neurologybytes Steering Committee. She has been involved in many clinical trials and is currently working on several ongoing trials investigating the efficacy of various treatments in patients with primary progressive MS. She is experienced in working with patients who live with relapsing remitting, secondary progressive, and primary progressive MS.


Dr. Doriana Landi, MD, PhD

Dr. Doriana Landi runs the clinical trials unit of the MS Centre at Tor Vergata University Hospital, Rome, where she is also in charge of the outpatient clinic dedicated to women with MS planning a pregnancy (‘SMamma’ clinic). She works as a research fellow at the Department of Systems Medicine at the Tor Vergata University, Rome, Italy. Dr. Landi has authored and co-authored several book chapters and publications in national and international peer-reviewed journals. Since 2014, she has been involved in more than 40 phase II–IV clinical trials exploring the efficacy of new treatments in MS.


Prof. Per Soelberg Sørensen, MD, DMSc, FAAN

Prof. Per Soelberg Sørensen is Chair of the MS Neurologybytes Steering Committee. He is Professor of Neurology at the University of Copenhagen, Senior Consultant at the Department of Neurology, Rigshospitalet, and Founder of the Danish MS Center, Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen University Hospital. Currently, Prof. Sørensen’s appointments include Executive Board member of the European Charcot Foundation for Research in MS, member of the Medical Advisory Board of the International Federation of MS Societies, and member of the International Advisory Committee on Clinical Trials in MS, under the sponsorship of the US National MS Society and European Committee for Treatment and Research in MS (ECTRIMS). He is an honorary member of the European Committee for Treatment and Research in MS (ECTRIMS).



Prof. Piero Barbanti, MD, PhD

Professor Piero Barbanti is Professor of Neurology and the Director of the Care and Research Unit on Headache and Pain at the IRCCS San Raffaele Pisana in Rome, Italy. He also serves as President of the Italian Headache Association (AIC), President-elect of the Italian Neurological Association for Headache Research (ANIRCEF), and Treasurer of the Italian Society of Neurogeriatrics. His current research interests include the clinical pathophysiology and pharmacology of primary headache disorders, particularly for migraine. Prof. Barbanti has authored over 114 peer-reviewed articles in neuropharmacology while also serving as principal investigator for numerous clinical trials in the field.


Dr. Casper Emil Christensen, MD, PhD

Dr. Casper Emil Christensen is a medical doctor and researcher at the Danish Headache Center and Department of Neurology, Rigshospitalet Glostrup, at the University of Copenhagen, Glostrup, Denmark. He has recently been involved in clinical trials investigating the effect of induced migraine attacks in patients who have tried preventive treatment, and is actively investigating meningeal vasculature in the migraine brain using magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). Dr. Christensen obtained his PhD in neuroscience from the University of Copenhagen with a thesis on migraine pathophysiology.


Dr. Tim Jürgens, MD, PhD, PD

Dr. Tim Jürgens is a senior physician and consultant at the Department of Neurology, University Medical Center Rostock, Germany, and heads the Headache Center North-East. He is also President of the German Migraine and Headache Society, member of the Editorial Board at The Journal of Headache and Pain, and Associate Editor at Frontiers of Neurology. Dr. Jürgens is a board-certified pain specialist, and his current research interests include neurophysiology and pain, neuromodulation in headache and pain, trigeminal autonomic cephalgias, and human models of pain and facial pain.